Skip to main content

Zeta Eta Chapter of Delta Omicron

Identifier: ZetaEta

Scope and Contents

This is a collection of records and related material pertaining to the Zeta Eta chapter of Delta Omicron.

The collection is organized into the following series:

    1. Governance records

    2. Publications

    3. Scrapbooks


  • Majority of material found within 1960 - 2018

Historical Note

Delta Omicron, International Music Fraternity, is a professional fraternity in the field of music with collegiate chapters established throughout the United States and abroad. The fraternity was founded in 1909 at the Cincinnati Conservatory of Music by three undergraduate students. The Founders were Hazel Wilson, Lorena Creamer, and Mable Dunn. Delta Omicron is the only organization of its kind founded by students for students. From 1909 to the present, twenty-six Delta Omicron national presidents have guided the fraternity to achieve and fulfill its purposes and objectives. (

The Zeta Eta chapter of Delta Omicron was established by alumni from Illinois Wesleyan University (student chapter being Sigma) and grew to include Delta Omicron graduates from Illinois State University (Omicron Omega student chapter) and the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana. The Bloomington Alumnae chapter had been established in the 1930s; and Alumnae chapters adopted Greek names (distinguished from student chapters with the first letter Zeta), in 1944. (The Wheel).


2 Linear Feet (Collection comprised in one document box and two records box.)

Language of Materials


Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Illinois Wesleyan University Special Collections Repository

P.O. Box 2899
Illinois Wesleyan University
Bloomington IL 61701 US